Overview

This guide explores the different methods staff can use to restrict student access to content on Learning Space. Each of the solutions below assume that editing has been enabled by clicking the 'Turn editing on' button at the top of the screen.


Contents


Video guide

Watch the video guide for an example of adding an access restriction to content. In this case it is a restriction based on student groups, but a restriction can be set by date and time, grade, user profile or a combination of these.



Completely hide content from all students

To hide a section, file or activity from a student simply find the item on the page and choose 'Hide ___' from the edit dropdown button on the right.


Completely hide content from groups of students

Important: This section assumes you have groups set up on your page. Refer to the groups guide for more information.


1. To completely hide content from groups of students simply select the activity, file or section by clicking 'Edit ____' from the edit dropdown button on the right.

Screenshot shows Edit dropdown menu

2. Next scroll down and open the 'Restrict access' section, and then click 'Add restriction...'

Screenshot shows Restrict Access drop down


3. Next select 'Group'. If you don't see the group option then you have not created any groups on.

Screenshot shows Add Restriction menu


4. Finally select the group(s) of students you want to have access to the content and click 'Save Changes'.

IMPORTANT: To make content invisible to all students who are not in group A, you must click the eye icon to ensure it has a cross through it. If you want students to be able to see content but not access it, then untick the eye icon.

Screenshot shows Add a Restriction


5. Once your changes have been saved you will see a 'Restricted' message under the heading of the section as shown below.

Screenshot shows that Creative Tea Making section is restricted


Completely hide content using the date and time

Important: This section details a simple example of restricting access to content using date and time. For more detailed instruction, please refer to the guide: Restrict access to content by date and time.

1. To completely hide content from students until a given date and time simply select the activity, file or section by clicking 'Edit ____' from the edit dropdown button on the right.


Screenshot shows Edit dropdown menu


2. Next scroll down and open the 'Restrict access' section, and then click 'Add restriction...'.

Screenshot shows the Restrict access option


3. Next select 'Date'.

Screenshot shows Add Restriction menu


4. You can now set restrictions by date and time, using a combination of the drop down menus 'must / must not' and 'from / until'. The eye icon can be used to create conditions for hiding the resource.

  • If the eye icon is SHUT then students who do not meet that part of the condition will not see the activity at all.
  • If the eye icon is OPEN the students who do not meet that part of the condition will see the activity but it will be greyed out and have information about why they can't access it yet.


Tick Mark iconTip: The shut eye takes precedence. For example, you could have 2 conditions, one based on date (with eye shut) and one based on completing a previous activity (with eye open). That way, the activity will not appear at all until the date; then it will appear, but with information telling a student they need to complete the other activity first.

Annotated screenshot highlight the eye icon to toggle between show and hide activities

Note iconNote: Further restrictions may be added by clicking the 'Add restriction' button again. This is an advanced setting, and it is recommended you contact etsupport@falmouth.ac.uk for guidance and support with this feature if it is something you are interested in using.


Once your changes have been saved you will see a 'Restricted' message under the heading. If the eye was shut then not only will the resource be restricted but it will also be hidden, this will be indicated by text in brackets within the restriction message.

Screenshot shows restricted message underneath the section heading


Example of a restriction message for an activity completely hidden from students.


Note iconNote: If a resource is restricted the message a student sees will inform them of this, whereas if a resource is restricted and hidden a student will not see the resource at all. 



Further Support

For further support on Learning Space, or to report any issues with this guide, please get in touch with the Digital Learning Team via dlsupport@falmouth.ac.uk. Alternatively, please refer to the numerous help guides found on our Knowledge Base


View the Accessibility Statement for all of our support guides.