Marking Workflow prevents students seeing feedback and marks until a staff user "releases" them. Using it means there is no need to hide the submission link itself.
- How to check whether marking workflow is turned on
- How to do your marking
- Releasing the feedback all at once
- Further Support
How to turn it on
Any summative assessments created by SPA will have Marking Workflow turned on already.
To check that it is turned on, you edit the Assignment's settings
Find the Grade section of the settings. You'll see Marking workflow is set to "Yes".
How to do your marking
Each student submission has a Marking Workflow state. Initially this is set to "Not Marked" for all students. There are 6 possible states. Only one of the states ("Released") means students can see their marks and feedback. You can use the other 5 states as you see fit, as they all mean the students can not see feedback and marks.
As you mark each student's work, you may change this setting (for example, to "Marking completed") or you may leave them all as "Not marked". The choice is yours. However, do not set any to "Released" while marking is in progress.
Releasing the feedback all at once
When you have completed the marking, the submissions list should look like this:
You will see there is a mark in "Grade" but the "Final grade" column is empty. Now, to release the marks there are three steps.
Make sure all students are showing in the submissions list by checking two things:
1. Above the list of submissions: the First name and surname filters are set to All.
2. Below the list of submissions: Assignments per page is set to All and no filters are applied
Select all - With selected: Set marking workflow state - Go.
Marking workflow state: Released - Notify users: Yes - Save changes
For further support on Learning Space, or to report any issues with this guide, please get in touch with the Digital Learning Team via email@example.com. Alternatively, please refer to the numerous help guides found on our Knowledge Base.